A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How are all those out there adjusting to being - outsourced to MT company??

Posted: Apr 08, 2012

I have read a few posts on here by transcriptionists who worked for a hospital that got outsourced. I am one of them. I still keep in touch with a couple of the women from my dept and only 4 of us went with the company we got outsourced to. Some of the ladies were older and just took the severence pay; a couple took severence and decided to apply for unemployment when it runs out. but I had to keep working and could not afford to turn down a job. So here I am, I have gone from making what I considered a very good hourly wage to now making cents per line. I have never worked in the company industry before until now; however we were all home-based. It has been a few months for me and I am adjusting (finally). But I will never forget the day they called the dept mtg and told us that our dept would no longer be and they told us what our options were. The only halfway decent thing about the way they did it was that they told us 2 and a half months in advance.

Outsourced to MT company - Cassie

[ In Reply To ..]
Hi - This was my situation, too. I've kept in touch with many of my former hospital coworkers.

The hospital where I worked closed our transcription department and outsourced everything. We had known for about a year that "something" was coming, but everything was really vague as to exactly what. We were led to believe we would still be employees of our hospital's parent corporation, which didn't turn out to be the case. We were all offered a job with the MTSO. Of our 20-some employees, I think 3 MTs quit before the official announcement and got jobs at another hospital. Two MTs turned down the MTSO job. The rest of us started with the MTSO; but within 6 months or so, only about 3 or 4 of us remained.