A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Going down the tubes - PT

Posted: Jul 25, 2010

Let's face it, this is not the business to be in anymore.

I agree, getting out - leaving

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been doing this for 20 years and when I had a supervisor/trainer hesitate and then call $12 an hour a good living, I almost died on the spot. I use to make $30 an hour, every day. Point in fact, I just VR-edited 96 minutes of dictation and I made $22 for the trouble. Some dictators are just not cut out for VR but because VR generates more money for the company, they don't care if it wastes the transcriptionist's time. I am registered for school this fall and I'm moving on. This industry will far worse in five years.

I agree...sm - Sassy Pants

[ In Reply To ..]
I've only been an MT for 2 years and doing VR since March and I hate this industry. I'm only sticking with it b/c a crappy income is better than none.

I'm currently FT, er OT, working 40+ hours and 6 days a week and I'm still making crap money. I only wanna stay with my company (hopefully PT when I get another job) b/c of the insurance which I desperately need and is not bad rates considering...

My aunt got a bunch of pamphlets and booklets about a 6-week online course to become an MT. I had to hold back the laughter. I "seriously" looked over what she had and almost died when I saw that they "guarantee a job upon graduation" AND "make $15 an hour minimum."

I finally had to tell her if she would be happy with only working PT (which is what she wants as she is retired) and does not mind working weekends, holidays, having NO Life, being chained to a desk all day, then go ahead. But I told her honestly if I knew 3 years ago after graduating what I know now, I would never have become an MT.