A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Anatomy and Physiology - Andrews Student

Posted: Apr 21, 2012

Hi all.  First of all, wow- thank you so much for all of the great information in this section.  I am a student at Andrews for medical coding and enjoying it so much.  I'd like to supplement what I am already learning and go a little deeper into Anatomy and Physiology.  My library has Great Courses DVDs that look promising.  If you enjoyed a particular set of DVDs or a lecture available somewhere online, I'd love to know about it.  It is extremely important to me to have an excellent foundation; the CCS certification that I am pursuing is not only so that I can work to help my family but for the volunteer work I am also hoping to be able to do with this knowledge of coding.  Thanks so much!

Anatomy and Physiology - Coder

[ In Reply To ..]
I know it's not a DVD or lecture but I used an Anatomy Coloring Workbook to supplement my A&P classes. The Anatomy Coloring Book 3rd by Wynn Kapit is very
good. If you look on Google you can also find anatomy flash cards. I didn't use these but people seem to like them.
Enjoy your studies!

Suggestion - CCS, CPC, etc.

[ In Reply To ..]
I admire your interest in learning as much as you can about A&P. More is always better, but I want to put things into perspective for you. I want to share the perspective of someone who has been there, done that, understands what is required, and helps other people get there, too.

I know the "more" A&P that you want to explore, so I know if you will need it or not. I know ICD-10 and ICD-9 both, so I know what is required for them. I have also seen what Andrews teaches, so I know where that fits in.