A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Just a few words of advice - longtimemt

Posted: Sep 09, 2010

This is going to be long and I apologize in advance, not wanting to cause a long discussion, just giving some facts. I was one who was included last week in the RIF letter from Webmedx. I have applied to about 25 different companies, most of which were advertising on one board or another, major job search sites, etc. I have found that most of them will not even acknowledge receipt of a resume. I have spent 6-8 hours on the computer every day, just searching every web site imaginable. I have received information from 2 companies and one of them was only for 3.5 for VR, the other was 4. I truly made that amount of money when I started my career years ago. I have over 20 years experience and have not done a lot of job hopping. I had heard for years that VR was coming and I really never thought it would get here before I could retire, which is a long time yet since I am only in my 40s. The truth, as I am finding it, is that the jobs are going to get more scarce, as the companies seem to think that VR is doing its job, when in reality we know it is not. Another thing I have discovered is that there are a lot of positions in house out there, just not in my area, I would estimate from the jobs I have searched at least 50% of them were in house so they are there if one wants to search for them. This makes me wonder if more hospitals are not pulling the work back in house due to the enormous costs of having a transcription service. I have seen this business go from typewriters to computers, and now to VR and there is no where for the MT to go from here. With companies now training doctors to edit their own reports, what do you think our role will be in another 3-5 years? My guess would be that MTs will be nonexistent. The owners and management all say it is a secure field, but I lost my faith in that last week. I am writing this to