A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Emdat Inscribe - how to link a medical dictionary - mina32

Posted: Sep 22, 2011

Can someone please tell me how to link a medical dictionary that I use in Word (Steadman's) to Emdat Inscribe?  I am not a techie so please be detail oriented with the details. No one I know knows how to do it and I do not either....help!!! Thanks so much!!!  

not possible - EmdatQA

[ In Reply To ..]
The only way to use the Stedman's Spellcheck is to click on the "W" (for Word) icon just above the transcription box. It takes the document into Word where you use F7 to run the spell check.

If you are new to Emdat and have one of the most recent versions of it, you can trust their spell check. I find it as reliable as Stedman's since they have upgraded it recently. You may have to tweak a few things, especially grammar, but the medical terminology base is very good.

A word of caution...just because you have Word available to run spell check, I advise against using it to transcribe in or format in it. Word attachs hidden codes that pull into Emdat that can lock up your computer and cause you to lose production time (I have BTDT with this issue). I highly recommend Emdat's new spellchecker and I'm a die hard Stedman's fan.

Darn - Mina32

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks for your reply...I hate to hear that. I am supposedly using the latest version of Emdat and I don't find the spell check to be all that great. I've been adding words as I go along though. Maybe I need to spend some more time with it though. Thanks again for your answer!! :-)

Similar Messages:

Emdat Inscribe - Need Dictionary Help Please
Aug 16, 2014

Upon spellcheck once I've F7'd to complete a report, I accidentally hit Add on a misspelled word and now the misspelled word has been added to the dictionary as correct.  Is there anyone who can tell me how do find and delete that entry? Thanks in advance :) ...

Medical Dictionary
Sep 15, 2014