A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Smoke and mirrors - oy

Posted: May 19, 2012

I've been thinking about all this. I made my living and loved my job for almost 30 years until the last few years with the voice recognition and all the electronic tedious convoluted corporate  bullcrap and severely diminished pay checks.  I have some experience with some different companies, and though I am barely staying afloat at Nuance since I escaped MQ (now MModal), here is what I believe to be true across the board.

They want more work and perfect work for less pay.  They create a diversion to make you think you are solely responsible for the accuracy of the reports. What they tell you about your line counts, whatever little tricks they try to appease you with to improve your lines and pay, they are simply blowing the proverbial smoke, to make you think you have some control over your fate.  It's a trick.  What we all know, but what they fail to acknowledge, is that machines do not do the dictating. If machines did the dictating everything could be measured out and controlled electronically quite simply.  But the dictators are human beings and this is what I find to be true:  You can only work as fast as the dictator speaks, period.  None of the electronic enhancements help when you are sitting there waiting for a dictator to chat with a co-worker or wake up since he/she just dozed off for a moment, or you cannot understand and must listen over and over to make sure it is correct because you are solely responsible for the perfection of the report.....