A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Opinons please - formerMT2008

Posted: Feb 15, 2012

Good morning everyone!  I have searched the boards, but I wanted to see what opinions I could get right here.  I received my certificate in MT in 2007.  I worked for MQ right out of school, but left when things started getting ridiculous (60 different accounts a day).  I then went to a small MTSO, but left there in 2008 when I was pregnant with my third child.  I haven't worked as an MT since.  I worked as an editor/proofreader for the last 3 years until the company did major cuts.  I am currently enrolled full time for my AAS in HIT, but I really need to find something to help out financially.  I am trying to find a company (doesn't matter if it's IC or employee) that allows for flexibility and is a little more understanding when you have an emergency.  Currently, I am working in sales/marketing and medical recruiting.  Both are IC positions, but they are also commission, so I need something more stable.  If I can't find anyone that is flexible enough, I'm prepared to work a schedule, but I am curious as to who the best companies are anymore.  A lot seems to have changed in the last 3-4 years in the MT industry, so I would really like some honest opinions on who the best companies are right now.  I am even willing to give MQ (noticed they changed the name) another chance if it's not a ridiculous amount of accounts per day. 

Thanks in advance!!

To be honest, if you want stability, just about - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
any MT job will NOT be that. I have been at it for 17 years and it has never been stable other than when I worked inhouse.

Let me rephrase that ;)-sm - formerMT2008

[ In Reply To ..]