A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

pleural parenchymal... - vn

Posted: Dec 24, 2013

common term related to chest x-ray, but have been seeing it done differently lately - is it "pleuroparenchymal," "pleural parenchymal," or "pleural and parenchymal"

when documentation is uncertain, always use a reliable source - basics 101

[ In Reply To ..]
such as a medical dictionary.

I found no reference to pleuroparenchymal in Stedman's medical dictionary.

I would personally only use pleural parenchymal, unless otherwise dictated by the physician involved in the report I'm listening to at the moment.

pleural parenchymal - vn

[ In Reply To ..]
Wow - I should use a medical dictionary - I never considered that! I've been doing this for over 25 years - and I, too, have a dictionary. I was simply trying to get some feedback on the subject because I had seen it done differently recently. As to going with what the dictator says at the time, do you really think they are specific in terms of how they want the term spelled as they are dictating as they slur through it - if so, none of us would ever need any advice/input.

I use pleuroparenchymal and it IS in Stedman's - Radiology Words

[ In Reply To ..]
so there.

thank you! sm - vn

[ In Reply To ..]
I have an outdated Stedman's - pleuroparenchymal is not listed in my edition - that's why this feedback is so helpful. Guess it's time to break down and get a newer version! Thanks again.
the history of Stedman word books - basics 101
[ In Reply To ..]
There was a programmer who helped to develop Dragon Naturally Speaking and later Smartype. She also worked with Wilkins and Williams to research new words to be included in the Stedman's word books. She quit that job (the one developing the Stedman word books) because she was being force to include illegitimate words that were not well researched or documented.