A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Can we have some positivity around here?? - newmt2

Posted: Aug 12, 2010

I am a newbie myself, and let me just say that from what I've read on here, the overwhelming tone on this board is a negative one. I understand that this may be a tough job field to find work in, that pay and hours may be low, but isn't there someone out there who is POSITIVE about the MT field??? I am a very positive person myself, and while I want to be realistic, I don't like reading a bunch of negative posts about "you wasted money going to school" and "I've been in this field 20 years and still can't find work". It depresses me and makes me feel like I'm wasting my time being an MT. I worked my butt off in school, graduated with an extremely high GPA, and YES I still don't have a job but I am hopeful. I've had about 2-3 interviews with companies and I know if I stick it out, something great will come. I'm not in this field to make big $$, just to have a nice supplemental income to my husband's and be able to stay home and be a homemaker. I would appreciate it if posts in the future were more positive. I'm sick of the negativity!!!!!

Some positivity - New2

[ In Reply To ..]
AMEN! I am new to this industry also, and I find that it is already daunting enough when you have worked your tail off for months and months and then so many people on the largest MT board in the country seem to hate the industry, their jobs, newbies, etc.... I am a realist also, but it would be nice to hear once in a while that I have not wasted the last 2 years training for a field that is worse than janitorial work!

Welcome aboard newmt2 and I will tell you this .... - JAPMT

[ In Reply To ..]