A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How Should The Work Be Divided Up? - st

Posted: Oct 19, 2011

So I waited a few hours for work today, was only working for about 1 hour when I was told to stop working and take the rest of the day off because the workload was slow.  I responded that I was in the beginning of a report but was told to stop anyway.  Curious as to why I should stop, after waiting for so long to get the work, I asked.  After all, I'm in training, new to the MT world, and taking it all in stride.  Or so I thought...

"We want to leave the jobs for the people on production rather than the ones that are hourly."  Oh.  Um.  Well that means that I lose money today too.  As a newbie, I'm paid minimum wage.  But I have to work the hours to get it.  How did they deduce that I don't need a full day of work today and someone else does? 

And if there is a practical reason for this, is this how it should be conveyed:  "Due to low volume, we all get a treat and get to leave early today."  It is not a treat to have no work, 3 hours pay for the day, and feelings of dismay over the lack of professionalism and fairness.

Couldn't they have at least let me finish the report I started?  The "get out of there fast 'cause someone else needs the money more than you do attitude" was unbelievable.  I need the money.  That is why I went to work today.

Usually production is asked to stop to ensure work for - employees, not the other way around. nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Are you FT employee? - JS

[ In Reply To ..]