Home     Contact Us    
Main Board Job Seeker's Board Job Wanted Board Resume Bank Company Board Word Help M*Modal Nuance New MTs Classifieds Offshore Concerns VR/Speech Recognition Tech Help Coding/Medical Billing
Gab Board Politics Comedy Stop Games Faith Board Prayer Requests Health Issues

ADVERTISEMENT

Coding / Medical Billing

After being a MT for 20 years, I found success as a Medical Coder. - MO-CPC

Posted: Jan 26th, 2019 - 12:17 pm In Reply to: Coding and Billing Courses - TomKat

In my opinion, medical coding should be a natural fit for an experienced MT. It all just clicked with me. I made the move to coding a year and a half ago. I worked in a hospital as a medical transcriptionist and I had the unique opportunity to move into coding as the administrator for this small hospital prefers to promote from within. My boss, the coding manager, suggested I do an online coding "boot camp" through a company called HCPro. It cost $1600 and it was a three month program. It consisted of 44 (I think) modules. I basically logged into the HCPro website and watched each module. At the end of each module there are practice questions and after each question, you are told if you are correct or not and are given the rationale for the correct answer. At the end of all 44 modules, there is a 40 question practice certification exam. Because I had such a strong medical background from 20 years of transcription, I found the boot camp very helpful. You have three months from the first time you log in to complete the boot camp and then you will lose access to it, but if you are disciplined and work on it every day, you'll get it done in plenty of time to even go back over some of the modules if you need to which I did. Also there are handouts and worksheet you can print out, as well as printing out the slides for each module which I found useful. I printed out the slides and made notes all over them as I watched the modules.