A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I just started working for a company with VR - lm

Posted: Oct 17, 2011

I started working for a company 2 weeks ago and it's about 99% VR, so I just edit all day.  Sometimes I would rather type it because it would be faster than editing. Other times it is faster to just edit it. The problem is, it is going to take at least the length of the recording to get the job done either way, but with VR I'm being paid only 4 cents a line.  It's the same work for less than half the pay I had before with straight typing. I just calculated up what I made in the last 2 weeks and it is pathetic. How can I increase my productivity and pay with this arrangement?

Wish I could help, but . . . - LK

[ In Reply To ..]
I'm facing the same problem as you very shortly. I've been working for the same company for 3 years, straight transcription only, earning a reasonable paycheck. They are now converting all their accounts to VR, and the writing is on the wall, so I plan to get out. Not sure what I'm going to do, but I'm looking. I don't want to do VR for peanuts, and won't. It's either straight transcription or a new field altogether. It's been a good few years, but my company is now going down the VR toilet too.

Why do people put up with this VR crap? - NUTS

[ In Reply To ..]
I will never, under any circumstances, give in to VR and $.04 a line for my skills. I can't imagine why qualified, intelligent MTs are wasting their time making below minimum wage to do this crap work.