A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

OP note for a simultaneous kidney-liver transplant. - sm

Posted: Mar 25, 2015

One patient was being kept alive until the organs could be harvested.

The other patient was being prepped for a combined simultaneous kidney-liver transplant. Both reports were very detailed with tons and tons and tons of minutia that I had to ensure made sense. This was dictated by an East Indian man who speaks so fast he makes my head spin.

I can guarantee the patient got a very good operative report placed into the chart.

I made just over $10 per hour this pay period we signed off on today. Is it really worth it? I've been doing this for over 25 years and used to make approximately $25-30 per hour. I am now reduced to feeling like you know what. Nuance, am I really this worthless?

No, you're absolutely not worthless - Ex-MT

[ In Reply To ..]
and as you realize, you're not getting paid for what you are worth. Only you can decide if all of that aggravation and hard work you put into that report is worth you staying in a job that makes you feel bad about yourself, because Nuance doesn't care one way or the other I'm betting.

Making less than a sandwich shop employee - something very wrong.

[ In Reply To ..]
A local sandwich shop here pays 9.50 an hour and I'm sure there is no reduction in pay if you forget to put the pickles on or leave the tomatoes off.

So wrong what this job has become.

Such a sad profession - CINDY

[ In Reply To ..]
The great thing is that all us MTs are noticing how disgusting it is and realizing we can do a much easier job for more money. We don't have to use our knowledge of medical terminology, computer, typing fast, to get 9-10 an hour at a much easier job. This job is a sweatshop job. We have to put the voice recognition on so fast it will make our head spin just to get those lines in.