A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Trying to gain employment - Keasha

Posted: Aug 17, 2011

I graduated from Kaplan University last July and I have still not been able to find employment in medical transcription.

I have even tried to get my foot in the door as far as working as a medical receptionist, secretary and in medical records to no avail.

Is there any advice that you seasoned MTs can give me? Any and all advice would be greately appreciated.

Thanks,

Keasha :)

Keasha - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]
Without a really good school (alas, Kaplan isn't one of the prime schools in many people's opinion) and lack of experience, it may be difficult to get employment in the MT world. I would recommend you get some additional training at either Andrews or M-TEC to beef up your resume and your knowledge. I know that this is probably not what you want to hear, but these days MTSOs have their choice of whom to hire, and they are going for grads with more extensive, well-rounded training. It would cost you nothing to speak with either Andrews or M-TEC and see what they recommend. The second best thing is to try to get your foot in the door with a private practice doc. Perhaps by doing clinic work, you can network. Good luck to you. Unfortunately, there are many people in this position, given the state of our world. Although the media does not like to say it, we are in a depression, not a recession. (Apparently none of the news commentators ever took economics 101.) Keep trying, keep your chin up, do everything you can to augment what you already have.

Also a Kaplan Grad - BreMT

[ In Reply To ..]