A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Newbie-Future of Medical Transcriptionists? - Michelle

Posted: Apr 28, 2011

I have gone through and read some of your posts.  I see that Andrews School, MTec, and possibly CareerStep are your top notch schools.  Is there still a need for transcriptionists?  I don't want to go out and spend all this money and not be able to find a job.

I would like to be able to work from home as well.

What are other's thoughts on this subject?  I have seen several that haven't been able to find a job.  I figured it would take me about 8-12 months to complete a program.

Thanks,

Michelle

Future of MT - DK

[ In Reply To ..]
I make less now than I did 4 years ago when I graduated. I have been lucky to find a decent position, unlike many, but that isn't meant to imply that in any way this is a good career. I went to Andrews School, graduated well, and am considered a top-notch transcriptionist but I was told on my current job that I "would never get a pay raise." Well, that does not fill me with the feeling that what I do makes a ****** worth of difference. Please do not count on being an MT as any kind of career because it isn't, even for the best.

DK - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]