A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Working while visiting a foreign country - Grateful

Posted: Jun 12, 2012

Hi All,

Because of family "emergency" I may have to go overseas for a few weeks.  I'd like to keep working because I don't have any leave available right now.  I'm wondering if any of you out there have ever brought your laptop and worked from a foreign country.  If so, were there any technical issues?  I know some websites have their access blocked from certain parts of the world and I'm wondering if DocQScribe and DocQManage have any issues like that.

I'd really appreciate hearing your experiences and knowledge.  Thanks!

better check with CCM - dont think it is allowed

[ In Reply To ..]
due to privacy/tax/etc issues...Imho anyway..

What? If that were the case, why are they outsourcing? - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I've never worked from a foreign country but I've been a dual resident of 2 different states and my understanding is that we can work anywhere in the world as long as there is internet service available. You can download the DocQScribe software onto any computer on earth from the Medquist website - once you have downloaded the software you're good to go on any computer.

Outsource: when clinic/hosp sends dictation to MTSO. - Offshore: when MTSO sends overseas to be done.

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Working overseas - Been there

[ In Reply To ..]
It makes no sense at all why we aren't allowed to work overseas. I, being the spouse of a military person who is deployed overseas have asked this same question. M*Modal is a big sponsor of the Military Spouses Initiative, which sponsors military spouses to work from home and be able to transfer seamlessly. I do know that if you had a VPN from the country you were in, it routes to IP address back to the United States therefore letting you work with no technical issues. Good luck to you!

Thanks all - Grateful

[ In Reply To ..]