A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

productivity tips - kitkat

Posted: Jan 13, 2015

I'm wondering if anyone has any productivity tips for staying focused that they'd like to share.  I've been doing this for so many years, but it seems like a daily struggle to sit still for six to eight hours a day and just type report after report, especially when the laundry and housecleaning always seems to be calling out to me.  I've tried the 25 minutes on/5 minutes off without much success and am wondering what else works for people.

Thanks for any shares! 

What helps me is to keep a notepad by my desk - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Then as I think of other things I need to take care of, I jot them down. This helps me put them out of my mind until the transcribing time is finished.

Your statements just burn me up - Let me tell you why

[ In Reply To ..]
You have a job that you are allowed to stay at home and work. Not everyone has that opportunity. You disregard it as a "real" job because you don't know how to stay interested, thinking about housework instead? I will tell you probably have done this about twice as long as you and never have any problem with outside things taking my attention away from my job. If not for the occasional cup of coffee or glass of water my behind would be in my chair for the entire 8 hour shift. I would call names but do not care to be thrown off here. I think people who talk about I need to do the dishes, take care of the kids, blah, blah, blah must be people who have never had a job where they had to get their behinds out the doors and then they would be glad to have a job comfy like now. I hate and I mean hate ridiculous statements.

Me too, I've done this a LONG time--long enough to watch - income go from $60K to $40K

[ In Reply To ..]