A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

is medical billing/coding also going overseas? - curly

Posted: Aug 03, 2013

gotta be honest, i despise medical transcription - booorrrrring - BUT i still want to work at home. i know coding/billing probably isn't any more interesting, but because i still want to work at home, i'm considering learning it. does anyone have any knowledge and/or experience with it? if so, is it, too, also going overseas? are there any work at home jobs that are not going overseas?

Billing/Coding - FormerCMT

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been doing billing/coding for one specialty for the last six months. I also did billing/coding for a different speciality for a short time 15+ years ago. My experience is that it is much more difficult than MT. I am very detailed oriented, but the details with this job can be overwhelming. My opinion is that unless you go to school, get certified, and work for a hospital for a few years at least, you will not be able to work from home and make $20+/hour. I am working in the clinic but feel very fortunate that somebody took a chance on me as I'm over 50. I make about as much as I was averaging with Nuance, which is half of what I was making as a remote MT for a hospital. I suppose this profession could go overseas as well, but in my situation, it won't. I was an MT for 30+ years, and I would say that billing/coding is maybe not boring but tedious and a brain drain, at least for me. I know people will get on here and post negative comments to this, so please feel free to send me an e-mail if you want any further information.

coding - mt

[ In Reply To ..]
Exactly my situation ....and exactly my fears. I figure I can actually do the coding, but I will be swimming in details. Have always been detail oriented, but the over-50 thing should not be underestimated.

Billing/coding - Coder

[ In Reply To ..]