A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Thoughts on taking CMT right after finishing RMT? - Serious

Posted: Apr 16, 2010

Just wanted to hear from some of you more seasoned MTs out there...I am scheduled to sit for the RMT exam on Monday, 4/19 and have been preparing for this since mid-January by taking a review course via M-TEC.  Several folks have advised me that rather than waiting the typical 2 years, I should consider studying to take the CMT exam immediately after passing the RMT.  My book skills are good, and I graduated from M-TEC with a fairly high GPA.  I have only been working for 2 months for a general medical clinic, but I am a student at heart and a lifelong writer/grammar type of person. 

Any thoughts from people who have gone this route?

Why not go for it?! I think it's a good idea - CMT

[ In Reply To ..]
If your skills are good and they are fresh, right out of school, this may be a good time to do it. Once you're on the job, you may get stuck with a few specialties or report types and get rusty, so do it while your studies are fresh on your mind.

Reqirement is 2 years of acute care. You can't sm - I am a CMT

[ In Reply To ..]
If you do decide to lie and take it, any employer will know you are willing to lie because they will put together the graduation date and the 2 months of clinic work.

I believe you are mistaken - See enclosed - from the AHDI website

[ In Reply To ..]
Eligibility Requirements