A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Text Expander - what do you prefer - Ernest

Posted: Nov 02, 2012

I'm studying to be an MT (although, reading the posts on the forum, I'm beginning to wonder about that choice), and was wondering what Text Expander software was preferred by most MTs.  What do you all like?

I use Instant Text - jw

[ In Reply To ..]
I have been using Instant Text for nearly 6 years now and love it! I really like not having to memorize all of my shortcuts. Creating glossaries is quick and easy to do, and IT has a lot of great features and capabilities. For me, Instant Text has been a great tool to help increase my productivity, and I can't imagine working without it.

I know Shorthand is another popular expander program, but I have never used it personally.

Hope this helps!

If you're using MS Word - TMSOA

[ In Reply To ..]
MS Word has excellent built in word expansion capabilities that few people are aware of. On the other hand the makers of expansion software don't want you to know about it.

if you are referring to autocorrect it is designed for typo fixes - not so much for bulk text as in

[ In Reply To ..]
whole reports, whole paragraphs, collummating values, etc.

I used shorthand, can pull the date/time right off your computer clock, stores plenty with bolded headings or underlining, etc. Works independently with all platforms as not attached to Word, like Smartype or Word options. Free trial offered and you can pay by the month, or year if low on cash for purchase. I like it.

AutoComplete - Nancy

[ In Reply To ..]
AutoComplete was removed in Word 2007 but reintroduced in Word 2010.

http://compusavvy.wordpress.com/2010/02/06/autocomplete-returns-in-word-2010-quick-primer-on-quick-parts/
works IF all clients are Word based...not mine. - NM
[ In Reply To ..]
x
Word based.... - Nancy
[ In Reply To ..]
Agreed. I was responding to a Word-specific post, not to expanders in general.