A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Obtaining a transcription position - als

Posted: May 13, 2013

I am trying to figure out why I cannot not obtain a transcription position when I have 15 years experience.

Is it acute care experience? Do you have VR experience? - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
Seems they all want recent/current acute care experience.

Hundreds of MTs at a time apply for each job here. Very easy to - not be among first to apply. NM

[ In Reply To ..]
x

I think the deal these days - is, where it used to

[ In Reply To ..]
only take a few days or a week for recruiters to get back to applicants, now it can take months and who really knows why. MTSOs are such disorganized hot messes it is truly amazing to me that the few that are left continue to function.

In the meantime I would apply for other jobs and probably when you least expect it months from now you'll get an email saying they want to interview you. Maybe you'll get lucky and find something out of this dreadful field altogether. Good luck!

Dreadful field - als

[ In Reply To ..]
I have tried my best to get out of this dreadful field with no luck at all.

Are you passing the tests? - No message - Anonymous

[ In Reply To ..]
No message

Obtaining a transcription position - als

[ In Reply To ..]
No. Not passing them for some reason.

What Kind of 15 Years? - That makes a difference

[ In Reply To ..]
If you have 15 years of just Family Practice, that's probably why. If you have 15 years of just one clinic specialty, that could be why. If you have 3 or more clinic specialities, they may also want acute care to go along with that---a lot of the clinics are giving up their MTs.

If you have 15 years of acute care (surgeries a plus), you would certainly qualify to at least test, but you'd have to pass the test.

You don't really say if you're not getting a foot in to test, or if you're testing and not making the grade.

Similar Messages: