A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Just did it..going back for my RHIA sm - Eyeontheprize

Posted: Jan 01, 2015

I can't stand this industry and what it has become. I am sick of making peanuts for thoughtless people.  I will hold on to my job while I have to but I signed up to go back and finish my Bachelor's degree so I can become an RHIA and get into coding or corporate.  I need more open doors.  I have an A.A.S. in HIT but that hasn't opened many doors. 

well that is great - but

[ In Reply To ..]
you don't need a bachelor's for coding.

Are you an RHIT? - You can code with that.

[ In Reply To ..]
If you have an AAS in HIT, did you take the RHIT exam and pass it? If so, you have enough for coding already.

Never took the test sm - OP

[ In Reply To ..]
I got my degree in 2007 and never took the RHIT and am sooooo rusty. I could go back and take refresher courses and try to get the RHIT but that's a lot of money to throw away if I fail. I just figured I'd get my Bachelor's and move into something supervisory.

That is why the doors did not open. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
It really isn't fair to say that doors did not open when you did not take the test to get the key to the lock.

You don't need to take "refresher courses" to prepare for the RHIT exam. I don't think there are any, anyway. Just use your books. You will need to do that to pass your RHIA coursework and the RHIA exam, because you need the knowledge from the RHIT for them.

The RHIA isn't a "supervisory" credential, by the way. You can supervise with the RHIT. The RHIA is a credential in more complex work, i.e., administration, control, organization. That's another reason to review--you need the foundation before you can build on it.
Thanks for your friendly response. nm - OP
[ In Reply To ..]
x

Similar Messages:

To Get A Job With An RHIA
Sep 21, 2012