A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Goodbye, AHDI! - earlymusicus

Posted: Jan 13, 2011

When I was a medical transcription student last winter at a local two-year college, most of us students joined AHDI at the encouragement of our instructors.

My membership has expired and in today's mail was a membership renewal request from AHDI.

I tossed it in the trash. I can't afford the membership because I can't get a job because AHDI supports offshoring of medical transcription jobs. Goodbye, AHDI.

Good for you! I wish all American MTs who were - flim-flammed into joining AHDI would quit, too.

[ In Reply To ..]

I agree-- don't be suckered in! - Old and Tired MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I spent 18 years of my life supporting AAMT (now AHDI) with my time and money to obtain and keep my CMT. I wish I had all that time and money back. They did not do one thing that helped me as an MT in all those years. All they care about is getting their money and don't care where it comes from, i.e. all the Indian MTs,sales of their beloved BOS, etc.

MQ equates AHDI with "development of - professional goals"

[ In Reply To ..]
To me, they're just a bunch of double-talking pseudo-intellectual profiteers exploiting American MTs. Never been a CMT, never saw the need for it, certainly never will. A bunch of initials behind your name doesn't prove your worth, but experience and a sterling track record in transcription does.
Amen to that!! - nm
[ In Reply To ..]
x

Great going...if enough MTs stood against AHDI (sm) - Yochana

[ In Reply To ..]
and refused to become certified to pad their pockets I think the issue of having to become certified in order to work would die out (fingers crossed anyway).

That's why those harpies are lobbying in DC - - theyre trying to force us to join. nm

[ In Reply To ..]

Goodbye, AHDI - sc

[ In Reply To ..]
Yes! I'd like to see those bloodsuckers fade away.

Paying dues? - tired of taking a cut in pay