A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Extremely fast talking with an accent. - Mel

Posted: Feb 07, 2011

I have been transcribing for 11 years and everytime I get a fasting talking dictator with an accent, it slows me down so much that it affects my production.  I have slowed down the speed and added several expanders but that does not seem to help.

Are there any tips or suggestions anyone has that can help?

Thanks,

Mel

suggestions.... - gertie

[ In Reply To ..]
Breathe...as many deep ones as you can...then settle in and remember that when you finally get that dictator, you'll have it! I know how you feel and the only way I've gotten through those times is to breathe deeply...many times...slow down...and know that often times if I am able to master that doc, then I have some job security. Give yourself an "I CAN" attitude and KNOW that you CAN!!! You got this...just believe!!!

Thank you. - Mel

[ In Reply To ..]
It helps to know that I am not alone.

Mel

the faster they talk the slower I type - OldHandAtThis

[ In Reply To ..]
Just tell yourself that life will get better in the next century or so when you finally finish that damn report. Sometimes I promise myself that when I finally get the miserable thing finished, I will reward myself with something more fun to do -- such as cleaning out the garage or doing my taxes. This is just one of those things we all have to put up with from time to time, you are most definitely not alone.
agree. plus, I have no problem leaving blanks. - NM anmt
[ In Reply To ..]

Here's What I Do - Old, Old MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I look away to distract myself, as if I don't even care what the dictator is saying. I'll just look out the window while my foot is on the pedal, and just observe the scenery. For some reason, the words come to me--kind of like the less I try, the better it comes to me.