A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Employee status minimum wage - Kath

Posted: Mar 13, 2015

Does anyone know if it is legal to not pay at least minimum wage as due to lack of work when you are expected to work anyway?  Third-party MT companies are getting rich, and we are being treated very unfairly.  I have been doing this for 35 years.  I have spent 2 stints, 5-years each, with at-home companies, and they could care less about us.  At age 56, I was hoping to retire from the company I work for now, but I cannot make a living.  Also, very nontransparent line counting, basically take their word for it.  Anyone know where I can research labor laws for at-home MT employee status.  Would it be the state I live in or the state which the company is? Just a number.  

Downtime - Dotts

[ In Reply To ..]
I am 66 and recently retired as a hospital transcriptionist, being at that particular facility for seven years. I was making just under $20 an hour working at home with their equipment, super benefits. When I left, I took with me a check for $20,000. Now after getting bored, I am work PT doing transcription for a national company and have read many posts over the past several months, being outraged at what I was reading. To that end, I have recently sent info to my Congresswoman on investigating this industry and will probably have to wait several months until her staff can investigate everything I told her about. As for getting paid "downtime," you may as well forget it. They could care less. I had contacted the Labor Dept. recently who could care less. So I feel there as no recourse but to contact my Congresswoman ...

no work and wages - Effie

[ In Reply To ..]