A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Employee offered insurance... not really better than my own?? - Confused

Posted: Jun 03, 2010

I am new to the MTSO thing.  IC for 10 years and bought my own health insurance.  It was $242.00 a month, and I let it go a few months ago after losing my job.  Now I am being offered by my employer an HSA plan for around the same amount or a PPO plan for around $300.00.  (this is them paying 60% and me paying 40% and that is what it equals??) This seems OUTRAGEOUS.  Am I crazy? 

I am single, no children, spouse... under 30....

What is some opinions on going with employer health insurance or trying to find your own? 

I know lots of people read these things and never comment... I hope some people speak up, I'm really new at this MTSO thing and I'm thinking of maybe going with their dental and vision plan... but I've never looked into that elsewhere either... I know I have to do tons of research, but they have to have this back to them in 2 weeks... (we found this out yesterday - in which ive had a week planned vacation leaving in 2 days!!)  ugh.

Really a tough call - Depends on so many factors

[ In Reply To ..]
Wow, it's such a tough call with the prices of insurance.

The MTSO for whom I work had a BC/BS plan that by all accounts should have been fantastic...at about $420 a month, but included medical, vision, dental, etc., and covered my husband and I. HORRIBLE policy. They wouldn't approve anything. Everything was subjected to "pre-existing conditions." It was like burning $420 a month.