A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Convincing Boss to Let Me Work At Home - Jen

Posted: Feb 05, 2012

I have been doing MT work for over 10 years now. I worked from home for a while and loved it. Circumstances changed, so I now drive an hour each way to a hospital, spending about 350 a month just for gas, not to mention excessive oil changes, tire rotations, etc. due to mileage! Let's factor in that I just now found out I'm expecting my first child (at age 37...please pray for me!! LOL) and can expect in my area to pay around 400 a month for daycare. So, we're at 750 a month just for gas and daycare. I've been trying to convince my boss to let me work from home to save these expenses, as I'm a single mom-to-be and every bit will help tremendously. A majority of my work hours are on the weekends, when I work three weekends per month at 12-13 hours each day, and daycare is impossible to find for weekends.  I've pointed out to my boss that  while the other ladies in the department may fuss initially because they want to work from home too, they will be glad to know that I will continue to take all those weekends if I can work from home. Nobody wants to go back on weekend rotations.  Also, my time off when I have the baby will be shorter, putting the department under less strain. It also opens up another computer portal in the office, should they need to hire additional employees in the future. Has anyone else had to convince their bosses to let them work at home and if so, did you come up with any really good convincing reasons that actually worked? So far, they aren't budging. I know they value me, as I am a really high producer and they've told me how much they appreciate my work. I just REALLY need to go home! And I know working at home with a new baby won't be easy, but at least I'm already comfortable with the work here and it's a very laidback office so if I needed to clock out and tend to baby, it wouldn't be an is