A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Book of Style nonsense? - GAfruitcake

Posted: Jun 21, 2012

I have been working in transcription for 31 years.  What is the deal with all this Book of Style nonsence?  Doctors don't care if a comma is in the right place or not, or if a drug is capitalized or now.  They just want the correct measurements, dosages, symptoms, body part, etc. typed in the correct document on the correct patient. You ask a doctor what the Book of Style is and they would probably just give you a dumb look.  Who is making money off of this?   It's just the craziest thing I have ever heard of.

Who is making money from the BOS? - Pineapple

[ In Reply To ..]
Why, the AHDI, of course. Like everything else, it is all about the dough! $$$$$$

Doctors may not care, - Dickens

[ In Reply To ..]
But if you ever have to work for a big transcription company, they may care, and your bonuses will depend on how many times you get marked down for things like commas, capitalization, etc. I'm not saying you have to use the BOS to know those things, but if you don't know them, it is a useful tool.

useful tool?? - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I really wonder how useful it is when they change things on a yearly basis, like how numbers are transcribed, where the commas are supposed to be placed, whether things should be abbreviated or written out, only so that one has to purchase the dang book every single year to keep up with these "changes" and has to spend between $80 and $100 to get it. They change these things purposely just so you have to buy the darned book. It is not worth a hill of beans or the paper it is written on, because many of these things are client specifications anyway, and quite subjective, at that. So in my eyes, it is only "useful" to the people who are publishing it, and that is all. JMO

BOS - Dickens

[ In Reply To ..]