A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

15+ years experience and can not get employment - ldskunz

Posted: Mar 23, 2010

I worked for Viera Diagnostic in Viera, Florida for the past 3 years. I broke my leg recently and they said they didn't need me anymore, as I need physical therapy three times a week to insure mobility in the future. I have over 15 years experience and cannot find a job. Anyone have any ideas. I did one test for one company, they said I did not pass. I am wondering if I should throw in the towel. I love this work and feel that I am a very good transcriptionist. Any ideas are welcome.

So sorry for your situation...sm - blondie

[ In Reply To ..]
What type of transcription did you do? Like acute care, clinic, a certain specialty, etc?
I would say keep testing. Another thing, a lot of the companies go by the AAMT BOS. So, you need to study up on that before you take tests. Good luck.

no job hits - ldkunz

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks so much for your answer. I have done it all. Acute care; basic four, clinic, specialities including orthopedics, cardiology, etc. My last position was in radiology. I will study my AAMT Guidelines before taking another test. Again, thanks for your reply.

A radiology position just posted on the job board. - NM

[ In Reply To ..]
X
Thnx - ldkunz
[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks for your help.

Fired because you had an injury that requires PT for - a while in order to heal? Doesnt sound LEGAL.

[ In Reply To ..]
May or may not fall under the Americans With Disabilities Act. It may only be temporary, but you ARE currently disabled and need PT for it. And it's not like you can't still work - you CAN. You just need some flexibility in your schedule until you complete your PT. Usually companies are REQUIRED BY LAW to make certain reasonable accomodations for people who have a disability, but can still work. Adjusting your schedule should be so easy for them, it's a no-brainer.