A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How did you get your first coding job? - Penny

Posted: Aug 14, 2012

I passed the CCS and CPC exam 8 months ago but have yet to find a job :(.  I busted my bu** to become a certified coder, and now that I am one, no one will hire me without experience.  I live in a small town.  We have one hospital.  I applied and was flat out told they cannot hire coders without minimum 2 years experience.  I asked if I could volunteer or job shadow and they said no.  No jobs there in HIM at all.  Our local medical clinic has a coding company that does their coding for them as well as transcription.  I applied to a few local physicians here but was again told they couldn't hire me because I have no experience.  I even look on a national website and have applied to multiple jobs and have been told no.  I was an MT for 10 years, before that I did billing.  So, I'm not sure what these companies, hospitals, clinics are looking for.  How do I get 2 years of experience if no one will hire me?  I'm in tears and ready to give up!

Penny - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
First of all, I am so sorry you are in tears and having such a hard time finding a job. Second, where did you go to school? The reason I ask is because I recently enrolled at Andrews and that is one of my biggest concerns - how am I going to find a job without experience?

Also, congratulations on passing the CCS and CPC exams! I'm hoping you get some replies from experienced coders here and I look forward to reading them. I wish you the best of luck!

That is one of my fears about changing - meggy

[ In Reply To ..]
from MT to coding, although now that my job is going from straight transcription to voice wreck, I think I'm going to just have to take a leap of faith and hope I can get a job somewhere. We have three major medical centers here and some of my acquaintances are doctors, so I may luck out. I hope you do, too!

first job - anon