A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Does every doctor office have coders? - anon

Posted: Aug 04, 2011

Just curious.  And if so, do coders work as the primary billilng person as well or do they having a billing person and a coder.  I don't see too many jobs advertised for coders so I was wondering... maybe not all have them.

No, not exactly - Coder

[ In Reply To ..]
Where are you looking that you don't see too many jobs advertised for coders? The newspaper? That's not somewhere I would look.

I'm a coder and I see jobs all the time. They are always some on www.usajobs.com. You'll see them on the websites of professional organizations, hospitals and other healthcare organizations, and professional journals. A lot are handled by headhunters. I see a lot of those through emails from local AAPC and AHIMA chapters.

A small, non-specialty office might not need a full-time coder. It kind of depends on what they do in that office. The bigger they are and the more complex the services, the more likely they are to have a coder. Otherwise, they might just use a biller or some other kind of front-office person. Even then, they probably work with a consultant coder who sets them up with the codes they need, provides training and advice, and does periodic audits of coding/billing accuracy.

You may have the idea that coding is just typing numbers onto bills, but it's a lot more than that. I have never done anything even remotely like that and do not know any coders who have. If you are looking for a job typing numbers onto bills, that's a billing job or a "front office" job.

see message - anon

[ In Reply To ..]