A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Hospital MT pay rate? - Inquiring mind

Posted: May 28, 2010

Hi everyone!

I have been doing MT from home for about 20 years now.  I have been offered a position at a local hospital doing MT on a per diem basis.  Can anyone give me an idea of what kind of pay to expect?   Thank you.

Not much - me

[ In Reply To ..]
You're better off staying home. You don't have to pay for gas or clothes! :) Hospitals are notorious for not paying well.

Depends - bookwork

[ In Reply To ..]
on where you are. Minium wages are very different across the country and therefore the pay scale is much different.

I worked for a smaller hospital system in mid Oregon and started at around 13 bucks an hour, after 2 years was at 15.50. Then I worked for a large hosital system in Portland Oregon and started around 15 and got up to $17.03 when I left last year. Some of the girls there that had over 20 years experience were making over 23/hr (with benifits)

Hospital MT Wages - typinaway

[ In Reply To ..]
I'm making $23/hr in So. Cal.

typinaway...I had to take a double look at your post - Typin_away

[ In Reply To ..]
I always use Typin_away as a name on here so I had to take a double glance at the post. I would LOVE someday to be making $23 an hour.

Maybe I need to make up a new nick-name for on here.

The hospital here pays $16 an hour.... - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Plus they pay bonuses. One of the hospitals in the town over starts MTs at $15 an hour and extra for nights. Not a bad deal in my opinion. I'm barely making $9 an hour working at home. I hate working cpl and keep waiting for the hospital here to have an opening.

One of my best MT jobs was working for a hospital - anonymous

[ In Reply To ..]