A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

DO NOT WORK FOR TRANSCEND (SERIOUS WARNING) - got fooled and burned

Posted: Dec 14, 2010

The offer letter and actual work I am doing do not coincide with each other which I consider to be a breach of offer and contract.  For example, I specifically asked if I would be editing or transcribing and was told that my position eventually would be half editing and half transcription by my recruiter.  That is one of the reasons I was so intertested in the position, as I have extensive editing experience and realize that this is the wave of the future. 

Later, when I was tried to obtain an actual start date, due to waiting on password and ID to come through for my accounts and working out my internet connection, my TL told me that HR is always telling people the incorrect information concerning transcriptionists and that this position would never go to editing.  At that point, I was very, very leary about Transcend and should have listened to my instincts.

My offer letter indicated that I would be required to maintain a $900 per pay period minimum standard. Since I began working with this company, I am not making enough income to even pay my bills, let alone meet this standard.  I expressed this to my TL and asked why I was not given my secondary accounts as promised in the offer letter.  I also told her that I run out of work because countless others are allowed to jump on whenever they have not met their own production in order to type and get their report count in on my primary account.

During my shift, I type the jobs as soon as I get them; still, I can still only average around 40 jobs during that 8-hour time period of time because so many others are typing on the acccount then, too.  I have no back-up account to type (as I was promised) so I run out of work.  All my reports are perfect and none have been sent back with any QA errors.