Home     Contact Us    
Main Board Job Seeker's Board Job Wanted Board Resume Bank Company Board Word Help M*Modal Nuance New MTs Classifieds Offshore Concerns VR/Speech Recognition Tech Help Coding/Medical Billing
Gab Board Politics Comedy Stop Games Faith Board Prayer Requests Health Issues

ADVERTISEMENT

Main Board

SLAP-M: My response to Jay Vance - sm

Posted: Sep 17th, 2016 - 10:26 am

I'll be as brief as possible, but not more so. Note, first, that this is a response, not an argument.

As a former area manager, I read the article by Mr. Vance with great interest and for the most part I agree with his observations.  He has provided a welcome opportunity for this discussion.

That being said, I would modify SLAP-M to SLAP-EM - the SLedgehammer APproach to Employee Management - because that's the aspect of management that we're talking about. The distinction is important because employee management is only one of many management functions in which you will find both dysfunction and incompetence in the transcription industry.

Indeed, I would suggest that incompetence in other areas of management may well CREATE an environment in which a SLAP-EM style of employee relations can arise and flourish WHETHER THE MANAGEMENT TEAM LIKES OR ASCRIBES TO IT OR NOT.

As a simple example, let's take financial incompetence, which encompasses everything that involves income, expenses and profit. Four of the most common casualties of poor financial management are employee selection, training, supervision and compensation.